As school starts for all Texas children, some important new driving laws also take effect September 1, 2013 covering such topics as using cellphones while driving around schools, passing a stopped school bus, and leaving the scene of an accident involving injury or death.
The use of cellphones, incuding talking on the phone and texting, is already prohibited in school zones unless the vehicle is stopped, the driver is using a hands free device, or the call is made during an emergency. The new law extends such prohibition of using cellphones while driving to all school property. Drivers who violate this law face a fine of up to $200.
It is already illegal to pass a school bus while its lights are flashing and its stop signs are out. In an effort to highlight this law to Texas drivers and to enforce it, Texas lawmakers are increasing the fine for passing a stopped school bus from an old range of $200 to $1,000 to a new range of $500 to $1,250.
Finally, Texas lawmakers are increasing the penalty for leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident involving injury or death. The new penalty, effective September 1, 2013, is two to twenty years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. The purpose of increasing the penalty is to encourage drivers who cause accidents involving injury or death to remain at the accident scene and call 911 to attempt to help the injured.
Corpus Christi, Tx personal injury lawyer Sheadyn R. Rogers represents individuals who have been seriously injured or who have lost a loved one due to wrongful death as the result of car accidents, motor vehicle accidents, motorcycle accidents, pedestrian accidents, bus accidents, and trucking accidents. If you have suffered serious personal injury as the result of an accident, call Sheadyn R. Rogers of Rogers Law Firm today at (361) 356-6057 for a free consultation concerning your case.